Wed. May 18th, 2022

Addis Ababa, December 23, 2011 [ras] – The Ethiopian Chamber of Commerce and Sectorial Association elected Mulu Solomon as president on the 17th of December. Mulu was elected as head of the chamber in Ethiopia after acquiring 112 votes out of a possible of 187.

Mulu was nominated as a presidential candidate for the ECCSA by the 7th General Assembly of the Addis Ababa Chamber of Commerce and Sectorial Association held last week.
She accepted the nomination even if it was short notice according to Mulu.

Mulu will be replacing Eyesuswork Zafu who served as president of ECCSA for two consecutive terms. Eyesuswork received an estimated 64 votes.

It was speculated by observers that Eyesuswork was a potential candidate for the presidency of both the ACCSA and ECCSA. He ran for the national chamber after being delegated by the Addis Ababa Chamber.

The two year performance and audit report of the ECCSA was presented and endorsed by the general assembly of the chamber in the presence of Kebede Chane Trade Minister.

It is to be remembered that the ACCSA re-elected Ayalew Zegeye as President of the Board of Directors. Vice President Abebaw Mekonnen was also reelected.

Ayalew Zegeye was re-elected as the only finalist left in the final round. The committee in charge of the nomination process started out with a field of 19 prospective presidential candidates.

The final list presented by the committee included Dr. Arega Yirdaw of the MIDROC Ethiopia Technology Group and Ermias Amelga Chief Executive Officer of Access Capital services as well as the incumbent.

Dr. Arega and Ato Ermias were unable to accept their nomination because of extensive work commitments leaving Ayalew as the sole candidate on the ballot.

Source: Capital

By Rasaas