Ethiopia Gives Badme Town, Disputed Territories to Eritrea


The Ethiopian ruling party on Tuesday announced that it has agreed to implement the Algiers agreement and decisions of the Ethio-Eritrea Boundary Commission, which awarded disputed territories, including the town of Badme, to Eritrea.The neighboring Horn of Africa nations have been in a no-war no-peace situation after Ethiopia refused to accept the ruling of the border commission, which was set up as part of a peace deal.

Tens of thousands of people were killed in two years of fighting which was believed to be Africa’s deadliest border war, in 1998.

“After reviewing the current Ethio-Eritrea situation, the coalition decided to end the dispute between Ethiopia and Eritrea and underscored the need to maintain peace between people of the two countries, Executive Committee of the ruling Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) said in a statement.

The Committee has called on the government of Eritrea to take similar action without any precondition to reinstate peace and good neighbourliness among the peoples of the two countries.

Ethiopia had refused to withdraw its troops out of the disputed areas – leading Eritrea to accuse Ethiopia of forcefully occupying its territory.

The Algiers Agreement was a peace binding agreement between the governments of Eritrea and Ethiopia signed on December 12, 2000, at Algiers, Algeria for the formal end of the Ethio-Eritrean war.

The two sides have remained on a war footing as Ethiopia had, until now, refused to accept the ruling of the border commission, which was set up as part of a peace deal.

Eritrea had refused to hold any talks with Ethiopia until it agreed unconditionally to the border commission’s findings.

Ethiopia’s new Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed had promised to make peace with the country’s northern neighbor after taking power earlier this year.