Sat. May 21st, 2022

Abiy Ahmed Ethiopian prime ministerPrime Minister Abiy Ahmed presented his new cabinet to the House of Peoples’ Representatives (HPR) on Thursday April 19, 2018. The unanimously endorsed Cabinet has seen the reshuffle or appointment of 16 ministers and the new appointees took an oath before the parliament, this morning. Abiy faced strong pushback from the House on the issue of restructuring some of the ministerial portfolios in his new Cabinet. The PM was confronted particularly on the dissolution and merger of two ministries to form the Minister of Agriculture and Livestock. Furthermore, the PM also announced that his office will make public appointment of state ministers and other high-ranking officials all throughout the day. Moreover, in its today’s session, the House accepted the resignation of Speaker Abadulla Gemeda and replaced him with Mufereyat Kamil. Accordingly, the following are the newly appointed members of the cabinet;

  1. Shiferaw Shigutie – Minister of Agriculture and Livestock
  2. Siraj Fegessa –  Minister of Transport
  3. Hirut Worldemichael (PhD) – Minister of Labor and Social Affairs
  4. Teshome Toga (Amb.) – Minister of Public Enterprises
  5. Umer Hussein – Director of the Ethiopian Revenues and Customs Authority
  6. Uba Mohammed – Minister of Communications and Information Technology
  7. Ambachew Mekonnen (PhD) – Minister of Industry
  8. Motuma Mekassa – Defense Minister
  9. Fozia Amin – Minister of Culture and Tourism
  10. Ahmed Shide – Head of Government Communications Affairs Office with Minister portfolio
  11. Jantila Abay – Minister of Urban Development and Housing
  12. Meles Alemu – Minister of Mines and Energy
  13. Berhanu Tsegaye – Federal Attorney General
  14. Yalem Tsehay – Minister of Women and Children’s Affairs
  15. Melaku Alebel – Minister of Trade
  16. Amir Aman (PhD) – Minister of Health


By Rasaas